Eureka wins 5th straight B-C divisional mat title

Print Article

THOMPSON FALLS — Make that five in a row for Eureka.

The Lions dominated the action once again at the Western B-C divisional wrestling tournament on Saturday.

Gunnar Smith (120), Kyle Durden (126), Nathan Schmidt (132) and Hank Dunn (145) all captured individual titles to help Eureka roll up a 202 winning-point total.

Smith, Schmidt and Dunn were repeat winners.

Nate Cargill (152), Gavin Pilkington (160) and James Fehr (170) all finished second for Eureka.

Florence-Carlton, 148, was second and St. Ignatius/Charlo, 135 1/2, third.

Bigfork had 19 points to place eighth.

The top four wrestlers in all weight classes advance to the all-class tournament in Billings, Feb. 8-9.

Eureka had 13 wrestlers at divisional and qualified 10 for state.

“They stepped up to the challenge and gave it everything they had,” Eureka coach Danny Lemer said.

“I’m very pleased with their performance over the weekend. They didn’t surprise me at all, they just met expectations. They wrestled hard and came out on top.”

Eureka won state in 2017 and finished second last year.

Bigfork qualified one wrestler for state — Archie Brevik at 152. He finished fourth.

Western B-C Divisional


At Thompson Falls

Team Totals

Eureka 202, Florence-Carlton 148, St. Ignatius/Charlo 135 ½, Superior/Alberton 107 ½, Plains/Hot Springs 92, Thompson Falls 74 ½, Arlee 60, Bigfork 19.



Championship — Oliver Post (Florence-Carlton) pinned Taylor Angle, 1:13; 3rd place — Tyrel Thomas (Arlee) pinned Kody Dillard (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) 2:26


Champion (Only One Entrant) — Trae Thilmony (Thompson Falls)


Championship — Gunnar Smith (Eureka) dec. Roman Sparks (Thompson Falls) 2-0; 3rd place — Peter Carey (Plains / Hot Springs) 25-12, So. over Walker Murphy (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) 5-0


Championship — Kyle Durden (Eureka) pinned Shane Reishus (Thompson Falls) 3:17; 3rd place — Aaron Edens (Florence-Carlton) pinned RJ Knoll (Arlee) 1:28


Championship — Nathan Schmidt (Eureka) dec. Conrad Vanderwall (Plains / Hot Springs) 9-5; 3rd place — Cole Gilleard (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) pinned Wesley Buchannen (Superior / Alberton) 1:43


Championship — Josiah Vanderwall (Plains / Hot Springs) pinned Colt Crawford (Arlee) 3:00; 3rd place — Jonny Chamberlain (Florence-Carlton) dec. Hunter Haskins (Superior / Alberton) 8-2


Championship — Hank Dunn (Eureka) dec. Darwin Adams (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) 10-3; 3rd place — Isaiah Kovalsky (Superior / Alberton) pinned Chance Muller (Eureka) 2:29


Championship — Isaac DuMontier (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) pinned Nate Cargill (Eureka) 1:07; 3rd place — Skyler Titsworth (Arlee) pinned Archie Brevik (Bigfork) 2:51


Championship — Avery Meinzen (Florence-Carlton) pinned Gavin Pilkington (Eureka) :20; 3rd place — Kyler Francis (Superior / Alberton) pinned Ethan Diaz (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) 1:47)


Championship — Isaiah Alik (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) pinned James Fehr (Eureka) 3:01; 3rd place — Troy Matt (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) pinned Luke Maki (Florence-Carlton) 4:32


Championship — Trey Green (Superior / Alberton) maj. dec. Dakota Irvine (Thompson Falls) 16-5; 3rd place — Johnny Fehr (Eureka) pinned Jared Pallo (Florence-Carlton) :29)


Championship — Spencer Jones (Florence-Carlton) pinned Miles Anderson (Saint Ignatius / Charlo) 1:13; 3rd place — Dominck Babcock (Eureka) dec. James Crazyboy (Arlee) 9-6


Championship — Jacob Lapinski (Superior / Alberton) pinned O`Maste Foster (Florence-Carlton) :57; 3rd place — Steven Yother (Plains / Hot Springs) Bye


Top Four Advance To State


1st - Oliver Post of Florence-Carlton

2nd - Taylor Angle of Plains / Hot Springs

3rd - Tyrel Thomas of Arlee

4th - Kody Dillard of Saint Ignatius / Charlo


1st - Trae Thilmony of Thompson Falls


1st - Gunnar Smith of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

2nd - Roman Sparks of Thompson Falls

3rd - Peter Carey of Plains / Hot Springs

4th - Walker Murphy of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

5th - Austin Warren of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

6th - Gage Sanchez of Arlee


1st - Kyle Durden of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

2nd - Shane Reishus of Thompson Falls

3rd - Aaron Edens of Florence-Carlton

4th - RJ Knoll of Arlee

5th - Vaughn Pendlay of Bigfork


1st - Nathan Schmidt of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

2nd - Conrad Vanderwall of Plains / Hot Springs

3rd - Cole Gilleard of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

4th - Wesley Buchannen of Superior / Alberton


1st - Josiah Vanderwall of Plains / Hot Springs

2nd - Colt Crawford of Arlee

3rd - Jonny Chamberlain of Florence-Carlton

4th - Hunter Haskins of Superior / Alberton

5th - Eli Tidwell of Bigfork

6th - Dominic Peltier of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)


1st - Hank Dunn of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

2nd - Darwin Adams of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

3rd - Isaiah Kovalsky of Superior / Alberton

4th - Chance Muller of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

5th - Shelton Woll of Bigfork

6th - Jake Calloway of Superior / Alberton


1st - Isaac DuMontier of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

2nd - Nate Cargill of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

3rd - Skyler Titsworth of Arlee

4th - Archie Brevik of Bigfork

5th - Bert Detienne of Plains / Hot Springs

6th - Wyatt Garver of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)


1st - Avery Meinzen of Florence-Carlton

2nd - Gavin Pilkington of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

3rd - Kyler Francis of Superior / Alberton

4th - Ethan Diaz of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

5th - Jesse Uski of Plains / Hot Springs

6th - Ashley Potts of Arlee


1st - Isaiah Alik of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

2nd - James Fehr of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

3rd - Troy Matt of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

4th - Luke Maki of Florence-Carlton

5th - Zach Cather of Florence-Carlton

6th - Colton Wrobel of Bigfork


1st - Trey Green of Superior / Alberton

2nd - Dakota Irvine of Thompson Falls

3rd - Johnny Fehr of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

4th - Jared Pallo of Florence-Carlton


1st - Spencer Jones of Florence-Carlton

2nd - Miles Anderson of Saint Ignatius / Charlo

3rd - Dominck Babcock of Lincoln Co. (Eureka)

4th - James Crazyboy of Arlee


1st - Jacob Lapinski of Superior / Alberton

2nd - O`Maste Foster of Florence-Carlton

3rd - Steven Yother of Plains / Hot Springs

Print Article

Read More Sports

Nuce HRs for Lakers A in 7-2 win over Twins A

April 24, 2019 at 6:00 am | Daily Inter Lake WHITEFISH — Hank Nuce homered and drove in three runs for the Kalispell Lakers A in a 7-2 American Legion baseball victory over the Glacier Twins A on Wednesday evening at Memorial Field. The Lake...


Read More

Cram named head coach of Glacier girls basketball

April 23, 2019 at 6:00 am | Daily Inter Lake Amanda Cram, who has been on the Glacier High School girls basketball coaching staff for the last four years, has been named the school’s new head coach. Glacier High School activities director Ma...


Read More

Wolfpack trips Wildkats 9-0 in softball

April 23, 2019 at 6:00 am | Daily Inter Lake COLUMBIA FALLS — Glacier’s hitters had a productive day, powering the Wolfpack to a 9-0 win in nonconference softball play against the Columbia Falls Wildkats on Tuesday. Sammie Labrum went 5 for...


Read More

Track Top 10 winners for Glacier, C-Falls, Whitefish

April 23, 2019 at 6:00 am | Daily Inter Lake MISSOULA — Glacier had three individual winners and Columbia Falls two at the Top 10 track and field meet on Tuesday. Placing first for Glacier were Mya McNeely in the shot put (38-5 1/2), Aren Al...


Read More

Contact Us

News: (406) 837-5131
Advertising: 406-758-4410
Bigfork Eagle
c/o Daily Inter Lake
PO Box 7610
Kalispell, MT 59904

©2019 Bigfork Eagle Terms of Use Privacy Policy