Monday, May 27, 2024

Letter to the editor: Bigfork Competitors do great at state

by Tara Armstrong
| July 20, 2022 12:00 AM

Bigfork Competitors traveled to Billings to compete in the Scholastic Clay Target Program Montana State Championship for Trap, Skeet and Sporting Clays held on June 25th and 26th. Twelve kids from the Flathead Valley ranging from 10-18 years old shot 300 rounds each over the two day competition. Coaches Robert Henneman and Brian Stein volunteered over 100 hours in a three month period to coach the team in all three events. They had 26 registered kids on the team and practiced two times a week in April, May and June. They even took the kids on an optional field trip to Big Sky Sporting Clays in Polson to give the kids exposure to the dynamics of what they will shoot at state.

Bigfork Competitors had four squads compete this year. Each squad is divided by age, grade and experience. The squad from 6th to 8th grade took home 1st place in all three events: trap, skeet and sporting clays. Montana State SCTP President Nathan Carpenter said, “if this squad sticks together over the years, they will be a team to reckon with.”

Junior Varsity and Varsity Squads placed 2nd in Skeet and Sporting Clays. The following also received individual awards for top shooter in their class: Grady Armstrong, 1st place Sporting Clays, Ryan Fleming, 2nd Place Trap, Garrett Edgren 1st place Trap and Skeet, 3rd in Sporting Clays, Corbin Craven 3rd place Sporting Clays, Clay Smith 3rd place in all 3 events

Cooper Cosand shot his first perfect score hitting all 25 targets in trap. In recognition of this, the entire group of shooters took one shot at the same time at his hat which was thrown into the air.

Thank you to the NRA Foundation for supporting our team and providing the ammunition for the competition. We also want to thank MidwayUSA for paying our entry fees to shoot at the competition. Congrats to all competitors and coaches for a great season: Coach Robert Henneman, Garret Edgren, Aiden Saner, Sterling Boone, Nathan Kaufmann, Gunnar Edgren, Corbin Craven, Ryan Fleming, Ethan Kaufmann, Grady Armstrong, Cooper Cosand, Brian Stein, Clay Smith and Cole Smith.